All-Star Faculty Announced for NEFAI 2015; Applications Due Sept. 4

CONTACT Justin Silverman | 774.244.2365 |

Twenty-five of the region’s most promising journalists will attend the New England First Amendment Institute in October to learn from some of the country’s most elite reporters, editors and media attorneys. Speakers at the institute include recent Pulitzer Prize and Peabody Award winners, as well local investigative journalism heavyweights and freedom of information experts.

“We are honored to have these journalism and legal veterans volunteering their time for our institute,” said Justin Silverman, executive director of the New England First Amendment Coalition, which provides the annual program.

Joining this year’s faculty are Jennifer Berry Hawes, a member of the 2015 Pulitzer Prize-winning team at The Post and Courier; Anna Schecter, a Peabody Award winning producer for NBC; Bill Buzenberg, former executive director of the Center for Public Integrity; Carol Marbin Miller, a senior investigative reporter for the Miami Herald and recent winner of the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting; and Joe Mahr, a 2004 Pulitzer Prize winner now working at the Chicago Tribune.

The fifth annual New England First Amendment Institute will be from Oct. 18 to 20 in Dedham, Mass. It’s provided at no cost to 25 journalism fellows. Fellowship applications are due Sept. 4 and can be found here.

This year’s faculty also includes:

  • Mike Beaudet | Fox25 – Boston
  • Robert A. Bertsche | Prince Lobel Tye
  • Dieter Bradbury | Portland Press Herald
  • Peter J. Caruso, Sr. | Caruso & Caruso
  • Joseph V. Cavanagh | Blish and Cavanagh
  • Catherine Cloutier | The Boston Globe
  • Lynne DeLucia | Connecticut Health Investigative Team
  • Ian Donnis | Rhode Island Public Radio
  • Michael Donoghue | Burlington Free Press
  • Allen Gilbert | ACLU of Vermont
  • Matt Kauffman | Hartford Courant
  • Jim Kimble | Correspondent for The Union-Leader and The Boston Globe
  • Bill Malinowski | Providence Journal
  • Jenifer McKim | New England Center for Investigative Reporting
  • Michael Morisy | MuckRock
  • Eric Moskowitz | The Boston Globe
  • Maggie Mulvihill | Boston University
  • Colleen Murphy | Connecticut FOI Commission
  • Walter V. Robinson | The Boston Globe
  • R.D. Sahl | Boston University
  • Sigmund Schutz | Preti-Flaherty
  • Emily Shaw | The Sunlight Foundation
  • Gregory V. Sullivan | Malloy & Sullivan
  • Lou Ureneck | Boston University
  • Todd Wallack | The Boston Globe
  • Tim White | WPRI – Providence

“Many thanks are owed to these volunteer speakers, as well as our sponsors and supporters,” Silverman said. “Without their generosity, we would not be able to provide this valuable institute each year.”

Sponsors and supporters of this year’s institute include The Providence Journal Charitable Fund, the Robertson Foundation, The Boston Globe, the New England Newspaper & Press Association, the Academy of New England Journalists, the Plymouth Rock Foundation, the Stone Family and Sam Adams.


NEFAC was formed in 2006 to advance and protect the Five Freedoms of the First Amendment, including the principle of the public’s right to know. We’re a broad-based organization of people who believe in the power of an informed democratic society. Our members include lawyers, journalists, historians, academics and private citizens.

Our coalition is funded through contributions made by those who value the First Amendment and who strive to keep government accountable. Donations can be made here. Major Supporters of NEFAC for this year include: The Robertson Foundation, The Providence Journal Charitable Foundation, The Boston Globe and Boston University.