Meet NEFAC’s 2024 Directors and Advisors

CONTACT Justin Silverman | 774.244.2365 |

The New England First Amendment Coalition is pleased to announce its leadership for 2024, a group of more than four dozen directors and advisors who represent many of the most prestigious newsrooms and law firms in the region.

Affiliations for those listed below is provided for identification purposes only.

Executive Committee

Gregory V. Sullivan, Esq.

Maggie Mulvihill
First Vice President

Christopher “Topher” Hamblett
Second Vice President

Justin Silverman
Treasurer and Clerk

Shirley Leung

Emily Sweeney


Jonathan M. Albano, Esq.
Morgan Lewis & Bockius LLP

Dan Barrett, Esq.
ACLU of Connecticut

Robert A. Bertsche, Esq.
Klaris Law

Peter Caruso, Sr., Esq.
Caruso & Caruso, LLP

Edward Fitzpatrick
The Boston Globe

Richard Gagliuso, Esq.
Bernstein Shur

Christopher “Topher” Hamblett
The Foundation for West Africa (R.I.)

Shirley Leung
The Boston Globe

Judy Meyer
Maine Trust for Local News

Jenifer McKim
GBH News Center for
Investigative Reporting

Maggie Mulvihill
Boston University

Penelope Overton
Portland Press Herald

Sigmund D. Schutz, Esq.
Preti Flaherty

Mike Stanton
University of Connecticut

Harrison Stark
ACLU of Vermont

Gregory V. Sullivan, Esq.
Malloy & Sullivan

Emily Sweeney
The Boston Globe


Lynn Arditi
The Public’s Radio

Gilles Bissonnette
ACLU of New Hampshire

Karen Bordeleau
Arizona State University

Lindsay Boyle
Hearst Connecticut

Matt Byrne
Gravel & Shea

Dusty Christensen
University of Massachusetts

Lynda Clancy
Maine Press Association

Kate Cough
Maine Monitor

Amanda Crawford
University of Connecticut

Diane Derby
VT Digger

Mariette DiChristina
Boston University

Michael Donoghue
Vermont Press Association

Liam Elder-Connors
Vermont Public Radio

Roger Garrity

Amanda Gokee
The Boston Globe

Beth Hamilton
CT Mirror

Mark Hayward
Union Leader

Zach Heiden
ACLU of Maine

Lee Hill
GBH News

Anne Karolyi

Jonathan Kaufman
Northeastern University

Henry Klementowicz
ACLU of New Hampshire

Ammina Kothari
University of Rhode Island

Courtney Lamdin
Seven Days

Izaskun Larrañeta
The Day

Sawyer Loftus
Bangor Daily News

Joseph McQuaid
Union Leader

Amanda Milkovits
The Boston Globe

Melanie Plenda
NH News Collaborative

Paola Prado
Roger Williams

Jeffrey J. Pyle
Prince Lobel

Hillary Rich
ACLU of Vermont

Elizabeth Ritvo
Brown Rudnick

Walter V. Robinson
The Boston Globe

Barbara Roessner
New Bedford Light

Marie Shanahan
University of Connecticut

Laura Simoes
Nackey S. Loeb School

Todd Wallack

Tim White

Janet Wu

NEFAC was formed in 2006 to advance and protect the Five Freedoms of the First Amendment, including the principle of the public’s right to know. We’re a broad-based organization of people who believe in the power of an informed democratic society. Our members include lawyers, journalists, historians, academics and private citizens.

Our coalition is funded through contributions made by those who value the First Amendment and who strive to keep government accountable. Please make a donation here.

NEFAC is supported by the Estate of Gloria Negri. Additional funding is provided by Leadership Circle donors including the Rhode Island Foundation, The Boston Globe, Paul and Ann Sagan, and the Robertson Foundation. Major Supporters of NEFAC’s work are Hearst Connecticut Media Group, Boston University, the Academy of New England Journalists, the Society of Professional Journalists Foundation, Genie Gannett for the First Amendment Museum, Linda Pizzuti Henry, the Champa Charitable Foundation Fund, Connecticut Public and WBUR-Boston.