NEFAC Announces Journalism Fellows for Annual New England First Amendment Institute

CONTACT Justin Silverman | 774.244.2365 |

The New England First Amendment Coalition is pleased to announce its incoming class of fellows for the 2018 New England First Amendment Institute.

This three-day institute is open each year to 25 New England journalists and provides the support and training necessary to become more accomplished investigative reporters, well versed in the freedom of information laws that govern today’s difficult reporting landscape.

NEFAC provides the institute — held this year from Sept. 16-18 at Northeastern University in Boston — at no cost to those who attend.

Stephanie McCrummen of The Washington Post, who won a Pulitzer Prize this year for investigative reporting, will deliver the keynote address. Joining McCrummen as featured speakers are Terence Smith, a contributing columnist for the Capital Gazette in Annapolis, Md., and David Cuillier, an associate professor at the University of Arizona School of Journalism.

Other speakers include Jennifer Bjorhus of the Star Tribune in Minneapolis, Minn.; Michael Kilian of the Burlington Free Press; Cheryl Thompson, a contributing investigative reporter for The Washington Post; Cindy Galli of ABC News; Todd Wallack of The Boston Globe; Mike Beaudet of WCVB-Boston and Northeastern University; and Tim White of WPRI-Providence. A full list of speakers can be viewed here.

This year’s institute is made possible by the generosity of the Providence Journal Charitable Legacy Fund, Northeastern University, the New England Newspaper & Press Association, the Academy of New England Journalists, and Boston University.

Other supporters of NEFAC this year include the Barr Foundation, The Boston Globe and WBUR-Boston.

NEFAI 2018 Fellows

Skyler Frazer | New Britain Herald
Ben Lambert | New Haven Register
Barry Lytton | The Stamford Advocate
Erica Moser | The Day

Anne Berleant | Penobscot Bay Press
Joe Glauber | WMTW-Portland
Rachel Ohm| Morning Sentinel
Amanda Post | WGME-Portland

Sarah Betancourt | Boston Institute for Nonprofit Journalism
Michael Bonner | The Standard Times
Lisa Creamer | WBUR-Boston
Dialynn Dwyer |
Jennifer Lu | Independent
Angela Rowlings | Boston Herald
Bridget Turcotte | The Daily Item
Grant Welker | Worcester Business Journal

New Hampshire
Breanna Edelstein | The Eagle Tribune
Sierra Hubbard | The Keene Sentinel
Meg McIntyre | The Keene Sentinel

Rhode Island
Brian Amaral | Providence Journal
Parker Gavigan | WJAR-Cranston
Kim Kalunian | WPRI-Providence

Catherine Buni | Independent
Staci DaSilva | WFFF/WVNY-Burlington
Xander Landen | VTDigger

Pictured above, from left to right: (Row One) Dwyer, Welker, Betancourt, Berleant, Kalunian (Row Two) Lambert, Creamer, Turcotte, Lytton, Moser (Row Three) Buni, Frazer, Lu, Bonner, Rowlings (Row Four) Hubbard, McIntyre, Gavigan, Landen, Post (Row Five) Glauber, Edelstein, DaSilva, Amaral, Ohm.

NEFAC was formed in 2006 to advance and protect the Five Freedoms of the First Amendment, including the principle of the public’s right to know. We’re a broad-based organization of people who believe in the power of an informed democratic society. Our members include lawyers, journalists, historians, academics and private citizens.

Our coalition is funded through contributions made by those who value the First Amendment and who strive to keep government accountable. Please make a donation here.

Major Supporters of NEFAC include the Barr Foundation, The Providence Journal Charitable Legacy Fund, The Robertson Foundation, The Boston Globe, WBUR and Boston University.