New Hampshire Open Government Advocate to Receive NEFAC’s Orfield Citizenship Award

David Saad of Right to Know NH to Be Recognized for Legislative Efforts, Public Education Programming

CONTACT Justin Silverman | 774.244.2365 |

The New England First Amendment Coalition will honor David Saad, president of the open-government group Right to Know NH, with its 2019 Antonia Orfield Citizenship Award.

The Citizenship Award is given to New Englanders who have fought for information crucial to the public’s understanding of its community or what its government is doing — or not doing — on its behalf.

Saad will be honored at NEFAC’s ninth annual awards luncheon on Feb. 15 for his advocacy and volunteer work. In 2013, Saad and several other citizens formed Right to Know NH as a nonpartisan citizen coalition working to improve transparency of New Hampshire state, county, and local governments.

Saad’s advocacy includes drafting legislation to strengthen the state’s Right to Know Law and testifying during legislative hearings. He has developed training materials and conducts training seminars on the public’s right to know.

In 2017, Saad served on a commission established by the New Hampshire Legislature to study alternative processes that could be used to resolve public grievances involving public records and open meetings. He played a key role in drafting the commission’s findings report and proposed legislation intended to establish an independent ombudsman and appeals commission.

“David is a long-time champion of open government in New Hampshire,” said Justin Silverman, NEFAC’s executive director. “His work throughout the years has helped make the state more transparent and citizens more informed.”

The Citizenship Award will be presented at NEFAC’s New England First Amendment Awards luncheon from 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. on Feb. 15 at the Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel. Tickets can be purchased here.

During the luncheon, Stephen Engelberg of ProPublica will be honored with the Stephen Hamblett First Amendment Award. WCVB-Boston’s Janet Wu, a member of NEFAC’s Board of Directors, is master of ceremonies.

WBUR-Boston is the luncheon’s primary sponsor. Other sponsors, table hosts and supporters include Roger Williams University, The Boston Globe, Boston University, Emerson College, Northeastern University and Boston 25 News.

The New England First Amendment Awards luncheon is part of the New England Newspaper & Press Association’s winter convention.

Previous recipients of the Citizenship Award are the Hyde Square Task Force (2018); Donna Green (2017); Michael Champa (2016); Harriet Cady (2015); Kit Savage (2014); and David Lang (2013).

NEFAC was formed in 2006 to advance and protect the Five Freedoms of the First Amendment, including the principle of the public’s right to know. We’re a broad-based organization of people who believe in the power of an informed democratic society. Our members include lawyers, journalists, historians, academics and private citizens.

Our coalition is funded through contributions made by those who value the First Amendment and who strive to keep government accountable. Please make a donation here.

Major Supporters of NEFAC include the Barr Foundation, The Providence Journal Charitable Legacy Fund, The Boston Globe, WBUR and Boston University.